Sunrise Greens

This is yet another one of my super quick! green smoothie concoctions. I love having green smoothies in the mornings as they contain lower sugar and do not spike my sugar levels like crazy. I use half a frozen banana here so that I can still taste the refreshing greens after blending. The thick almond milk add body to this smoothie making it a satisfying breakfast.

This smoothie is a nutritional powerhouse in a cup. With spinach and kale, both high in vitamins and antioxidants, it is also my go-to smoothie whenever I feel under the weather. Frozen spinach cubes can be purchased at your nearest NTUC or Cold Storage outlets. They can be found at the frozen veggie section. Alternatively, you can also buy fresh spinach and freeze them using your ice cube tray.

I have tried both ways and found that taste wise, there is hardly any difference. So I often pick the easy way out with frozen spinach cubes instead. They come in especially handy if you are not one to cook regularly and often find it difficult to finish an entire box of fresh spinach. Research have also shown that frozen spinach may retain more of its nutrients as they are flash frozen within a few hours of picking them.

Having this smoothie in the morning also means I get at least 1-2 servings of vegetables before the day even starts – all blended in a dreamy, sweet and delicious drink.


Recipe: Sunrise Greens


Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 3 cubes frozen spinach
  • Handful of kale leaves
  • 1 cup almond milk, unsweetened
  • 1/2 frozen banana

Toppings:

  • 2 tablespoons oats
  • 1 teaspoon raisins
  • 4-5 crushed walnuts

Directions:

  1. Blend spinach and kale with almond milk till well-combined.
  2. Add banana and blend till smooth.
  3. Add toppings to serve.

Viola!

IMG_4740

Thank you so much for reading!

(c) GEMHL ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Leave a comment