Winter Organics Skincare Review

There seems to be an increasing vegan presence in Singapore. Though I am not vegan, I appreciate the fact that this has led to more eateries offering plant-based dishes. Leading a cruelty-free lifestyle also naturally extends to adopting a greener and more health conscious approach to the products we used.

I was recently sent this lovely bundle of products from Winter Organics and am delighted  to find out that they are vegan, 100% Natural and made with organic ingredients.

The bundle consists of:

  • Chamomile Facial Cleanser
  • Calendula Shower Gel
  • Cacao Facial Scrub
  • Body and Hand Lotion
  • 1 travel moisturizer

Pretty packaging aside, the first thing I do when deciding whether to use a new beauty product is to look at the ingredient list. I will pore through the fine-print to ensure that there are no hidden chemicals, parabens, silicon and/or artificial fragrances. Winter Organics products do not contain any of the chemicals mentioned. I also like that their scents are derived from essential oils and not artificial esters.

Let me start off with reviewing these 3 products!

img_7755

Chamomile Facial Cleanser

img_7768  img_7769

I like that this creates very gentle foam which means that it’s not harsh on my skin. As it’s made of natural ingredients and no harsh surfactants, you may need to lather with a foaming net and mix with more water if you prefer it to be more foamy. Even with little foam, it works well as a second cleanser and has an uplifting scent. Despite the presence of citrus oils in it, I did not find this drying nor irritating for my sensitive skin. The gel is quite liquid and if not careful, you may end up squirting it all over your bathroom. My face did not feel tight after washing but just gently cleansed and appears slightly brighter.

Calendula Shower Gel

img_7772

I love the scent of this shower gel. It has this warm but invigorating scent. I remembered I used to have a shampoo that smells like that when I was younger. So this was a really comforting scent for me. This shower gel is also quite liquid and does not really foam up. It is gentle and washes off well without leaving my skin feeling stripped of moisture. 

Cacao Facial Scrub

img_7791

This smells like vanilla and chocolate! Instead of harmful beads (non-biodegradable and bad for the environment), it uses argan shell and bamboo powder and has brightening components like papaya extract. However, I find this too harsh for my sensitive skin. I have been told during my recent facial (read it here), that my skin is only suitable for exfoliating at most 2 times a month as I have very thin skin around my nose and cheek area. I guess I will stick to using my natural oats for now for gentle exfoliation. I will use this for my elbows and knees instead!

Next up! Macadamia Hand and Body Lotion

img_7754

Both of these formulations are quite similar. They are made with Macadamia nut oil, Sunflower seed oil and enriched with Vitamin E. A potent combination for a moisturizer.

Most commercially available moisturizers in the market, have the first ingredients listed as Aqua/water followed by Glycerin as they are cheap alternatives to create a moisturizing film.

This lotion instead has nourishing Aloe Vera Juice listed as its first ingredient, followed straight after by macadamia nut oil. A real winner! I did find it harder to spread but once it sinks in, my hands felt moisturized even in harsh indoor air-conditioning.

img_7776 img_7778

These winter Organic products are vegan and cruelty-free which explains the cute bunny icon you see in the front of all their packaging. They are also Australian Certified Organic and uses biodegradable materials for their packaging.

What else do you notice about their packaging and labels?

img_7782

Yes! They even list the pH of their products. Almost all their products have a pH5 rating.

Why should I care about the pH level of my skincare?

Shouldn’t I aim for a pH 7 since its neutral and better for me?

“The skin’s barrier, which is known as the acid mantle, is responsible for keeping in lipids and moisture while blocking germs, pollution, toxins, and bacteria,” explains Patricia Wexler, M.D., a New York City dermatologist. “To work its best, the acid mantle should be slightly acidic, at a 5.5 pH balance. When it’s too alkaline, skin becomes dry and sensitive; you may even get eczema. You may also experience inflammation, which inhibits the skin’s ability to ward off matrix metalloproteinases [MMPs], the enzymes that destroy collagen and cause wrinkles and sagging.”

(Women’s Health Magazine)

Most of our skincare are too alkaline (especially those that creates thick foam or bubbles) and it strips away the natural moisture barrier of our skin. We in turn then put on lotions to stave away the dryness and soon our skin gets accustomed to this and needs a certain level of moisture (external ‘help’) to keep it from feeling tight. It’s a vicious cycle.

You can read more about pH and skin here.

img_7736

It is not common for skincare products to list their pH values so openly and the fact that winter organics products have a pH value of 5 really is just another factor for me to continue using their products.

You can purchase Winter Organics products from their online store. They offer free shipping in Singapore (no minimum purchases) and free international shipping (minimum purchase of SGD50, about USD36).

If you would like to feel and test out their products, then head over to any Naiise outlets at Westgate, Orchard Gateway and 112 Katong. 

They are currently having a 20% promotion both online and in stores. The above bundle is at SGD 69 (Usual price SGD98). They would make great Christmas gifts!

Thank you so much for reading!

*Disclosure: These products were gifted to me by Winter Organics. As always, opinions and thoughts are my own. I will only share skincare products that are in line with natural and organic beauty and that I feel would benefit my readers. Thank you so much for supporting businesses that make my blog possible.

(c) GEMHL ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Leave a comment