Quick-Bake! Peanut Butter and Apple Oats

The rainy season in Singapore always makes me crave for warm breakfasts with fragrant comforting spices such as cinnamon and nutmeg. It also makes me miss my little dog, Lucky so much.

Lucky used to be so afraid of the thunder and howling winds and will slink out from her bed and snuggle with us in the living room. I remember many countless rainy nights over the course of 16 years, spending nights just like that with her. She wasn’t allowed to sleep in my room but when my parents are away, I will sneak her upstairs, switch on the air-conditioning and surround her with lots of blankets. She can spend many hours just motionless, sleeping in her blanket ‘cave’. Those are one of my fondest memories. I know it is creepy, but I find it so therapeutic watching her sound asleep, her body rising and falling with every breath.

IMG_1229.jpg

This baked peanut butter and apple oats dish also reminds me of her. When she was around, I never got the opportunity to use my near finish peanut butter jars for overnight oats. She will be there licking it clean for me. She loves them all! Almond butter, sunflower seed butter, peanut butter, added sugars, no added sugars – she will have them all. I then have to painstakingly clean her sticky peanut-covered snout so that ants will not crawl on her.

Lucky has been gone for 3 years now. How time flies. I used to think that my tears will not stop flowing each time I think about or talk about her. But now after 3 years, my tear ducts are more in control. It is true though, that you never forget them. 16 years of friendship or rather sisterhood, through puberty, through my university days, my first boyfriend and first dates. She was the one I confessed and talked to – literally a living, breathing diary. Amazing how such a mere 4 kg dog can bring so much joy to my life.

IMG_0360.JPG

I still have not forgotten about this Quick-Bake! Peanut butter and Oatmeal recipe, which is the main reason you are here for!

This quick and easy to make peanut butter and apple oats is comfort food at it’s best. It takes less than 10 minutes to make and is so delicious and yummy. You can use either granny smith’s or regular red apples. There are no additional sweeteners in this recipe as the sweetness comes from the blueberries and apples. If you want it sweeter, feel free to add honey, agave or a sprinkle of coconut sugar just before baking. The spices will also make your house smell heavenly!


Recipe: Quick-Bake! Peanut Butter and Apple Oats


Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 apple, cubed
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter (100% natural, unsweetened)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • Blueberries and walnuts (for topping)

Directions:

  1. Place apples in a heat-proof dish and microwave for 1 minute. Mix with cinnamon and nutmeg when done. Set aside.
  2. Mix almond milk, oats and peanut butter in a heat-proof mug and microwave  on high for 1 minute.
  3. Pour oat mixture (Step2) onto the apples and bake in the oven/toaster for about 10 minutes.
  4. Sprinkle with crushed walnuts and blueberries to serve.

*P.S I use Pic’s Peanut Butter. Really one of the best natural peanut butters I have tried. Smooth and creamy without having to stir it like crazy.

Viola!

IMG_4885

Thank you so much for reading!

(c) GEMHL ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Leave a Reply

