Roasted Sweet Potato Bowls

I admit I have been quite lazy these days. I blame it on the relentlessly hot Singapore weather, making me even less inclined to stay in the kitchen. At times like this, I use technology to help me. And this time, it is my small trusty toaster oven to the rescue. For reference, my oven is about the size of a 15 inch laptop. Too small to roast a whole chicken but handy and so useful for everything else.

You can be flexible with whatever else you want to fill this bowl. The main ingredient is this delicious and easy to make roasted sweet potato. The rest? Just add the bits and bobs left in your fridge! Be creative and experiment!

The sweet potatoes when roasted has a deep intense caramelized flavour. I like to add a tiny bit of cinnamon to give them a smoky aroma as they are roasting in the oven. They taste as though you have been slaving over the oven for hours but in fact, you just toss them in olive oil, crank up the toaster oven for 15 minutes and waltz around the room.

Yes, you don’t even need to flip these little buggers.


Recipe: Roasted Sweet Potato Bowls


Serves 1

Ingredients:

Roasted Sweet Potato:

  • 1 Sweet Potato
  • 1 tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Sea Salt & Cracked Black Pepper

Suggested Pairings:

  • Steamed Broccoli
  • Capsicum
  • Avocado
  • Canned/Steamed Chickpeas
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Quinoa

Directions:

  1. Scrub and wash sweet potato. Chop sweet potato into 1/2 inch cubes. *
  2. Toss sweet potato with olive oil, cinnamon, sea salt and black pepper.
  3. Line oven tray with parchment paper and bake for 15 minutes.

*Note: I leave the sweet potato unpeeled. Saves time and provides tons of nutrients! Feel free to peel it, if you prefer.

Viola!

IMG_4746

Thank you so much for reading!

(c) GEMHL ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

4 Comments Add yours

  1. The very first oven I used (bought by my mom) is probably the same size as yours! The kind that you put on top of table counter xD This is the kind of diet bowl of nutrients and deliciousness that I should be eating!

    Like

    1. Gem says:

      I used to have a bigger, bulkier one. But we only used it less than 5 times a year, and in the end, it short-circuited when we used it! Hahaha. Ended up with this small one, small but super handy! 😁

      Like

  2. Vet Leow says:

    I have been thinking of roasting sweet potatoes in my air fryer these days too…so yummy!

    Like

    1. Gem says:

      Cool! I don’t own an airfryer but heard so many wonderful yummy things you can make with it! Do let me know how it goes 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

