Brain Boosting Bowl

It has been years since I last visited the National Library. Almost a decade I believe – since my Junior College Years. So much so that when I recently popped in to the National Library at Orchard Central, I was amazed by how new and well curated the books are. Almost like a book store! None of that dusty, moldy smell that I was used to many years ago. I remember then, I had a love-hate relationship with the library. I had to remember to wash my hands with strong antiseptic soap after I finish reading a library book. Once, I forgot about that and my hands literally starting turning incredibly itchy and red. Hard lesson learnt!

And so one fine afternoon, after my yoga class and wanting to while away some time before dinner, I pop into the library to have a look-see. I headed straight to the culinary section where there were tons of vegan and health-related books. I saw this book on display, titled The Happy Pear: Stories and Recipes from the first 10 years. Well, if you know me, I have an incredibly short attention span (thanks to iphones and social media). I usually flip through an entire cookbook in less than 10 minutes. Stopping only to oohh and ahh over the beautiful cutlery or amazing food photography.

This bright yellow book captivated my attention enough for me to pick it up. I have never heard of The Happy Pear before and was just absent-mindedly flipping through the book. After finishing the book, I went through it again and again, each time stopping at each section to read the stories behind The Happy Pear. And before I knew it, an hour have passed. Wow! And wait. Have I just finished an entire cookbook, cover to cover??

Book.jpg

I was incredibly inspired by The twin chefs behind The Happy Pear. How they turn Vegan or Plant-based and how they started The Happy Pear – buying over a small local vegetable stall in their hometown. What really touched me was the fact that they weaved the whole local community with their shop and the programs that they started with the mindset to encourage more people to eat a plant-based diet. They had fun, crazy ideas too! At a particular music event, they sold smoothies wearing only their aprons and flashed their naked pale butts at customers when they turn around to prepare the smoothies! No surprises, they were totally sold out that day!

And so when I knew that they have a second book out, I had to check it out. And it did not disappoint. I already bookmarked lots of their recipes to try. I was inspired by their recipe: Green Power Bowl to use avocado and coconut water to make a smoothie.

brain-healthy-foods-2.png

(Image Source: Store.brain-smart.net)

This smoothie bowl has 2 superfoods for boosting brain health. Matcha and Avocado. Our brains are two-thirds made up of fats – avocado provide those healthy monounsaturated fats that is essential for maintaining healthy brain functions. It is also rich in Vitamin E, which encourages red blood cell formation. This increases the blood circulation in our bodies. As more oxygenated blood flows to our brains, this will result in better memory and overall alertness.

Matcha is no stranger to many of us. It contains a high level of antioxidants which fights against the free radicals emitting from our brain activities. This keeps us mentally alert for a longer period of time. Enjoying a cup of matcha tea also help to ease our frazzled, stressed minds.

I am now once again looking forward to visiting the library and hopefully will be able to share more interesting cookbooks with you. But firstly, I am going to ‘repair’ my brains with this delicious, creamy Brain Boosting Bowl!


Recipe: Brain Boosting Bowl


Serves 1

For the smoothie:

  • Handful of fresh parsley
  • 1 teaspoon of matcha powder
  • 1 cup of coconut water, unsweetened
  • 1/2 Avocado
  • 1 small frozen banana

Suggested toppings:

  • Golden Kiwis
  • Goji Berries
  • Instant Oats
  • Blueberries

Directions:

  1. Blend parsley, matcha and coconut water till well-combined.
  2. Add in the rest of the ingredients and blend till smooth.
  3. Top with desired toppings to serve.

Viola!

IMG_6266.jpg

Thank you so much for reading!

(c) GEMHL ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Leave a Reply

