Seaweed Tofu and Sweet Pears

Travelling inspires me. I recently came back from my hiking trip to Korea, where I spend almost every day hiking various mountains in Seoul, Sokcho and Busan. Being close to nature, breathing in the fresh pine air and the early morning dew is one of the best gifts for me when I am travelling.

After one of my hikes in Seoul, I chanced upon this delicious vegan tofu dish at a local joint. The silken tofu was seasoned with only a drizzle of onion soy sauce but when mixed with the other vegetables (carrots, spinach, daikon etc) it transforms into such a creamy wholesome texture. I ate the same dish twice for the 2 days I stayed in Seoul and my only wish was that they came in larger portions.

IMG_1919 (1).jpg

I have seen many of my colleagues include tofu in their packed lunches to increase their protein intake. But most of them use either pan-fried firm tofu or if using silken tofu, they will have it steamed with eggs. I decided to try using plain silken tofu instead and seasoned it with furikake (Japanese seaweed flavouring). It turned out to be surprisingly good and quite oriental tasting!

I also have to give special mention to this brand of pears which I adore. These Honey Belle Pears from New Zealand are only in season around March-April and they are incredibly sweet and juicy. Firm to the touch with not much yield, you may associate these with tasteless and hard pears, but when you bite into them you will be in for a surprise! I am never a fan of pears and only enjoy them cooked (e.g pear tarts) but I have been buying these pears for the past 2 seasons and are amazed at their taste. They are extremely fragrant which was what got me to purchase them in the first place. Their small handy size also make them a great afternoon snack. I use them on overnight oats, stewed or with natural peanut butter as a snack. They also add such a lovely crunch to salads.

pears.jpg


Recipe: Seaweed Tofu and Sweet Pears


Serves 1

For the salad and toppings:

  • 1 tomato, cut into wedges
  • 100grams of silken tofu (about 1/3 tub)
  • 1 small pear, sliced (I recommend Honey Belle Pears)
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 200 grams Mesclun mix
  • 1 teaspoon of Furikake

For the dressing:

  • 2 teaspoons store-bought Japanese sesame sauce

Directions:

  1. Arrange salad ingredients on a large plate and drizzle with dressing.

Viola!

IMG_2918 (1).jpg

Thank you so much for reading!

 

(c) GEMHL ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
Leave a Reply

