Creamy Avocado Garden Salad

I was a pretty late bloomer to avocado and only got to know this delicious green jewel when I was 18. It was while backpacking in New Zealand when I noticed many Europeans and Americans eating avocado with just a bit of salt sprinkled on it. Plain old avocado, no toast, no eggs. Being the country bumpkin that I was, my initial reaction was ‘ewww…. that must taste like creamed grass. Just salt? Can’t take away that grass taste right??’ My only impression of avocado then was one mixed in copious amounts of Gula Melaka (Black Sugar) and milk – Avocado Milkshake introduced by my Indonesian ex-boyfriend. And I remembered not liking it one bit.

But as I was a poor student on a meagre backpacker’s budget, I ended up buying avocado and loaves of bread to fill myself up during those long insane hikes that New Zealand is famous for. I became a TOTAL convert. Overnight, an avocado lover! I was literally smacking my own head at my ignorance of this creamy, delicious fruit. And yes, the salt really elevates the taste. I even urged my mom who shuns all westernised breakfast to try it.  And now, she too is a fan of avocado!

With two crazy avocado fans in the house, our pantry is never short of avocados. This salad is a mix of fresh greens and juicy tomatoes with a really simple dressing. The STAR of this salad – Creamy, Delicious Avocado. As it should rightly be.


Recipe: Creamy Avocado Garden Salad


Serves 1

For the salad:

  • 1/3 avocado, sliced
  • 1 tomato, cut into wedges
  • 1/4 Red Onion, sliced
  • 200 grams Mesclun Mix
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin seeds

For the dressing:

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1/4 lemon, juiced
  • Sea Salt & Black Pepper

Directions

  1. Whisk dressing ingredients together in a small bowl.
  2. Arrange salad ingredients on a large plate
  3. Drizzle prepared dressing over salad to serve.

Viola!

IMG_3616.jpg

Thank you so much for reading!

 

(c) GEMHL ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
Leave a Reply

